

DIVISION OF VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS DEPARTMENT OF **MUSIC** 

# presents

# **Deep In The Heart**

# Waco Community Band

Jon R. M. Conrad, conductor David Turnbull, trumpet

Tuesday, October 10, 2023, 7:30 PM Wilbur A. Ball Performing Arts Center

# Repertoire

# Waco Community Band

Spirit of Texas (1986)		Claude T. Smith (1932-1987)
<i>Masque</i> (1968)		W. Francis McBeth (1933-2012)
Sheltering Sky (2012)		John Mackey (b. 1973)
Dramatic Essay (1958) D	David Turnbull, <i>trumpet</i>	Clifton Williams (1923-1976)
Symphonic Dance No. 3 "Fiesta" (1964)		Clifton Williams (1923-1976)
Rest (2011)		Frank Ticheli (b. 1958)
Silverado (1985/2008)		Bruce Broughton (1945) Arranged by Randol Alan Bass

\* A special encore performance will follow at the conclusion of tonight's program \*

Out of respect for the musicians and audience, please turn electronic devices off during this performance.

# Waco Community Band Personnel

## Flute/Piccolo

Karen Brown – Director of Accounting, United Way Pamela Dudark – Homemaker Rita Huie – Fine Arts Educator, retired Mary Kuhl – Voice Over Artist Lindsey Merritt – Music Teacher Lorena ISD

## **Oboe/English Horn**

Brently Bartlett – Choir Director, Waco ISD Tristen Collinsworth – Freelance Musician/Private Instructor

## Bassoon

Sarah Lieber – Teacher, Vanguard Preparatory Mark Stansel – M&M Mars, Inc., retired James Trammell – Band Director, Valley Mills ISD

# Clarinet

Ramiro Alvarez – McLennan College Student Andrew Collins – Music Repair Technician David Hooten – Retired Professor, M.C.C. + Carey Kuhl – Band Director, retired Mary Lampert – American Income Life, retired **\*** + \* Theresa Morris – Medical Labe Scientist, retired Nancy Nye – Homemaker, Admin. Assistant + \* Zack Poling – Teller, Pointwest Bank Elizabeth Scheifley – Testing Assistant, M.C.C. \* Suzanne Stanton – Stanton Glass Studio

# **Bass Clarinet**

Ben Taylor – Engineer, Oldcastle Jewell Concrete \*

# Saxophone

Antonetta Axup – Teacher, Harmony School of Innovation Tim Grace – Band Director, McGregor ISD & Chelsea Sentell – Asst. Dir. of Leadership Education, Baylor Mike Trevathan – Realtor

# Trumpet

Brad Cates – Judge, McLennan County Court at Law + Bryan Fonville – Central National Bank \* Randy Hayes – Band Director, retired Narciso Molina – Band Director, Comanche ISD Stephanie Muñoz – Elementary Music, Waco ISD Ken Walker – Professor, M.C.C.

#### Horn

Johnny Harper – Spatial Analyst, retired + Tina Hays – Private Voice Teacher Joel Lopez – Private Horn Instructor Raul Muñoz – Private French Horn Instructor Amy Plummer Nutt – Research Administrator David Rice – Band Director, retired \*

## Trombone

Larry Danks – Retired Church Musician Mark Geary – Band Director, retired + Roland Huie – Band Director/Administrator, retired Paul Hagelstein – Professor, Baylor University & Holly Johnson – Band Director, Hallsburg ISD

## Euphonium

Gary Carter – Senior Financial Mngr., Baylor University Lanny Nye – Nye & Associates ◆ + ★

## Tuba

Mark Hays – Freelance Musician/Private Instructor Marshall Rogers – Freelance Musician/Private Instructor John Westbrook – Educational Consultant

## Bass

Victor Leggett

## Percussion

Barry Brown – IT Coordinator, HOT Electric Coop. Winona Kirkpatrick Stephen Ramos – U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Jennifer Sitton – Homemaker & Duane Threatt – Band Director, Valley Mills ISD Chris Walker – Flight Paramedic

## Librarians

Agustin Jaimes Sierra Martinez Carolina McNeill

- + Charter Member
- ★ WCB Board of Directors
- Section Leader

# McLennan Community College Music Faculty & Staff

Lise Uhl, Director of Visual and Performing Arts Gail Wade, Music Area Coordinator Jonathan Kutz, Music Industry Careers Program Director Meghan Wilfong, Senior Administrative Assistant Bradley Christian, Dean of the Arts and Sciences

#### **ENSEMBLES**

Noah Alvarado, jazz Jon Conrad, concert bands Mandy Morrison, opera Peter Olson, orchestra Clark Nauert, jazz Bonnie Sneed, choirs Arthur Torres, mariachi

#### **MUSIC INDUSTRY CAREERS**

Jon Fox Shane Hall Brian Konzelman Jonathan Kutz Maddison Livingston Patrick McKee Clark Nauert Dave Wild

#### <u>Winds</u>

Brently Bartlett, oboe Trek Boyland, saxophone Vanessa Davis, clarinet Clay Garrett, euphonium/tuba Kim Hagelstein, horn Timothy Owner, trombone Masha Popova, flute Mark Schubert, trumpet

#### PERCUSSION

Jonathan Kutz, percussion

#### <u>Strings</u> Peter Olson, bass

<u>Voice</u> Mandy Morrison Edgar Sierra

#### **PIANO**

Christie Cho Alber Chien Marsha Green Gail Wade

#### **MUSICOLOGY & THEORY**

Donald C. Balmos Alber Chien Mandy Morrison Peter Olson Edgar Sierra Bonnie Sneed Gail Wade

#### **ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF**

Randy Dockendorf, Theatre Technician Nick Webb, Box Office

# The Waco Community Band is grateful for the generous support from the following donors for the 2023-2024 season:

#### **GOLD LEVEL PATRONS**

Gary and Angie Carter; Hon. and Mrs. Brad Cates; Kim and Paul Hagelstein; Mitch and Teresa Johnson Nancy and Steve Kahl; Ben, Christina, and Payson Taylor; Kalinda and John Westbrook

#### SILVER LEVEL PATRONS

Mark and Tina Hays; Janis Jackson; Steve and Mary Lampert

#### **BRONZE LEVEL PATRONS**

Terry Brazelton; David and Judy Guyer; Fred and Kathy Stanley; Anonymous

Would you like to help support our free concerts? Please visit WacoCommunityBand.org

#### Tax-deductible contributions may be sent to:

Waco Community Band | c/o MCC Music Department 1400 College Drive | Waco, TX 76708



Department of Music